So, I had an operation and had to spend a few weeks on crutches. Me being me – as soon as I could weight bear I went back to work. Many said I shouldn’t. Many would have made use of the 4 week sick note. Not me. Operation on Friday. Worked from home Monday. Anyway. My commute to work. Luckily my partner has driven to the station but it is train and then bus the other end. Being on crutches in an air boot has given me a very small insight to how we as the population treat the disabled. And please I am not saying for one minute this is the same but as I am technically considered disabled with other conditions I see this daily but invisible disabilities are impossible for the population to work around.

So the train comes in and I hop along to the closest door and join the queue. Typically my platform placement did not match where a door was. So, I hop along and join the queue. People are so keen to get on and get a seat that pushing in front of people is apparently very important because it seems all that matters is everyone just thinking about themselves. So I’m stood on crutches with middle aged men and women pushing in front of me until one eagle eyed man spots me and let’s me on ahead of him and he hold back others. I am very grateful and say thank you. So, almost invisible to most as the focus is get on get a seat. I am now on the train. Now let’s try to get a seat. Situated at the end of each carriage is disabled seats. Showing available – so they are not booked seats. I stand next to and say “excuse me please could I sit there”. In return I get a dirty look as the person huffs off to find another seat. So far my journey is going great. Trying to get off the train – I’ve had people literally try to push past me and get on the train whilst I am at the door trying to get off. I just don’t understand this. You can see me. You can see my crutches. You know I’m here as you are physically touching me to get past. Now to get a bus to get me to work. I get on pay for a ticket and as I walk to the disabled seats at the front and whilst I’m still walking to the seat the bus pulls of – I’m already very unstable, the floor is wet and slippery -This just tops it. That’s just getting to work! Repeat this every morning and evening to get to and from work.

It just shows priorities. Instead of using our eyes, looking around and looking out for people who may need additional help. The individual tunnel vision and need for seat is of more importance than looking around and even considering other people. If nothing else this has given me just a small insight as to how hard it must be for people with visible disabilities let alone those with invisible disabilities.

So, if your reading this. All I ask is that you open your eyes. Observe those around you and have some consideration for those more vulnerable people in our communities.